I agreeto Idea Filing Complaints
Voting is Disabled

11 votes

I disagree

Rank23

Idea#87

This idea is active.
Strengthen Accountability »

Filing Complaints

A lot of the change necessary is not going to happen until more people file EEO complaints, law suits and any other kind of complaint applicable. Even though the EEO process hardly works, it's one of the few avenues of redress.

I know that people are afraid of retaliation, which does happen. But, Federal agencies don't like EEO complaints and they don't like bad publicity. Take it to your elected officials. But, whatever you do, don't tolerate discriminatory acts such as inaccessible IT. On some level, it really is that straight-forward.

Submitted by garymichaelmorin 2 years ago

Vote Activity Show

Similar Ideas Show

Events

  1. The idea was posted
    2 years ago

Comments (7)

  1. Moderator

    At the agency level, we should identify the EEO officer as having a role in the section 508 program?

    2 years ago
    0 Agreed
    0 Disagreed
  2. Since I don't think we can expect agencies to file complaints against themselves (can we?), I assume what you're suggesting here is that it be easier to file complaints? Or maybe that it could be done anonymously?

    2 years ago
    0 Agreed
    0 Disagreed
  3. garymichaelmorin Idea Submitter

    In my original New Idea, I was speaking to the need for persons with disabilities, both employees and members of the public, to file complaints.

    EEO officers and Offices should certainly be doing their part to advocate to management (of which they're a part) for legal compliance. Very clearly, EEO personnel need to be trained on Section 508 - that it Is a part of their job, that Section 508 is different than Sections 501, 503, 504, etc. and that accessible technology is not the same as reasonable accommodations. In short, they need to embrace persons with disabilities as much as they embrace persons of color.

    2 years ago
    0 Agreed
    0 Disagreed
    1. Right, I understand. But this dialogue is supposed to be about improving the federal 508 program -- what policies should be put in place. We agree that there should be more complaints. I'm suggesting a policy of making complaints easier to file, easier to track, let people complain anonymously, publish all complaints and their outcomes widely, etc. I'm not sure many agencies would support such policies, but be that as it may.

      2 years ago
      0 Agreed
      0 Disagreed
  4. in addition to the other options mention for filing complaints, there is also available, the division of human rights within our states. i filed a complaint with the dhr in new york against my mortgage lender for out right refusing, willfully and intentionally, any option for an accessible version of my mortgage statement, or modification agreeement. i was successful, though i retained an attorney to ensure my success, in getting a settlement and a modification to my mortgage. i am still running into virtual walls with their web site though. thinking perhaps a class action suit, brought by organizations with a large print disabled community would prove effective, in addition to extending this law outside the federal government and its agencies. the bank i am speaking of professes to be the worlds local bank. my governer when he was attorney general saw fit to go after them because of the same willful and intentional disregard for the law, and forced them locally and nationally to make their credit card department accessible and user friendly to the print disabled. this however did not spill over to their other departments or divisions. in this instance i feel litigation not mitigation is in order. being ignorant of the law is one thing, knowing the law and ignoring it is them yelling to one and all to step up and take us to court.

    2 years ago
    0 Agreed
    0 Disagreed
  5. garymichaelmorin Idea Submitter

    I believe that, under the NoFEAR Act, there is supposed to be intentional and affirmative transparency regarding the complaints that are filed against an agency. But, as long as the data being published is by the agency itself, which has a vested interest in limiting the number of complaints filed and the number of complaints 'won' by the complainant, the data is rarely accurate, meaningful, current and - certainly - accessible and Section 508-conformant (if the electronic portions of the complaint process were even accessible)!

    So, one policy or legal change that may have to happen - sooner than later - is to remove EEO complaint processing from the Departments and Agencies so that there is not even the opportunity for bias-toward-management and conflict-of-interest. The employees processing complaints should not be employees of the named agency.

    2 years ago
    0 Agreed
    0 Disagreed
  6. ie: I have two color blind folks in my CIO office. They are having fits with Google colors in their applications. They complain internally, but no one cares. They will not sue because of fear of reprisal against them.

    2 years ago
    0 Agreed
    0 Disagreed